Quand je bois un grand Rhône, c’est comme si mon cœur et le palais ont échangé leurs places.”  Vins de la Vallée du Rhône (1996) Robert Parker

Château Chavagnac est le lieu de séjour idéal pour explorer les grands vins de la Vallée du Rhône Nord. Nous sommes situés au cœur du nord du territoire viticole du Rhône, sur les collines de granit Ardéchoise la rive ouest du Rhône, à quelques minutes à travers les vignobles en terrasses de Tournon et Tain l’Hermitage. En face, au-dessus de Tain, se trouvent les célèbres pentes de l’Ermitage et à côté des vignobles de Crozes-Hermitage. Nous sommes à proximité des vins de la Côte Rôtie, Condrieu et Château Grillet au nord.  Au sud, il y a les vins de Saint Peray et Cornas, suivie par des Côtes du Rhône, avant de finalement atteindre Châteauneuf du Pape et le reste du sud du Rhône, à environ une heure de route de chez nous.

 

Pour les amateurs de vin c’est vraiment un des meilleurs points de départ pour explorer le nord du Rhône.   Nous pouvons vous indiquer les caves, les vins locaux et les vignerons, partager nos guides et d’autres documents de référence viticoles, puis vous diriger dans la bonne direction pour visiter les caves pour déguster des vins exceptionnels.  Profitez de nos vins de maison avec votre dîner table d’hôtes ou même acheter quelques bouteilles.

Nous pouvons vendre du vin de la Maison Chapoutier, ainsi que trois ou quatre petits vignerons réputés, y compris Guy Farge qui fait un merveilleux bouquet de Blancs du Viognier cultivé sur notre domaine. Guy offre également une grande sélection de vins du Rhône Nord, y compris du Condrieu, St Joseph, Cornas et Saint Peray.

Cliquez ici pour télécharger petit guide de Aubyn sur caves locales: ChatChavCavesWeb280809

“When I drink a great Rhone, it is as if my heart and palate have traded places” “France’s and the world’s most underrated great wines…”
Wines of the Rhone Valley (1996), Robert Parker

Château Chavagnac is the ideal place to stay to explore the great wines of the northern Rhone Valley. We are situated in the heart of northern Rhone wine territory, on the granite Ardèchoise hills of the west bank of the Rhone, a short drive up through terraced Saint Joseph vineyards from Tournon and Tain L’Hermitage. Across the river above Tain are the famous west facing slopes of Hermitage and nearby the vineyards of Crozes-Hermitage. We are within easy reach of Cote Rotie, Condrieu and Château Grillet to the north. Travelling south takes you through Saint Peray and Cornas, followed by Cotes du Rhône, before eventually reaching Châteauneuf du Pape and the rest of the southern Rhône, about an hours drive from us.

For wine enthusiasts there really is no better base from which to explore the northern Rhône than Château Chavagnac – as the only ‘4 epis’ rated chambres d’hôtes within 30 km’s of Tain L’Hermitage. Many people find they have a far more relaxed, friendly, enjoyable and restful stay in a chambre d’hotes than a hotel and ours is the most charming and beautifully situated for many miles around.

We can tell you all about the local wines and winemakers, share our guide books and other wine reference literature, and then point you in the right direction for visiting caves and tasting wine. Enjoy our house wines with your table d’hôtes dinner here and even buy a few cases (at caves prices) when you leave (although you may need to give us advance notice).

We can sell wine from Maison Chapoutier as well as three or four smaller highly regarded winemakers, including Guy Farge who makes a wonderful Bouquet de Blancs from the Viognier grown on our domaine.  Guy also offers a great selection of Northern Rhone wines from the Archeche, including Condrieu, St Joseph, Cornas,  and Saint Peray.

Click here to visit the Rhone wine website with location and opening hours details for all the local caves.

http://www.rhone-wines.com/en/route/#/road/1

Click here to download Aubyn’s short guide on local wine caves: ChatChavCavesWeb280809